Welcome to the Winn Parish Police Jury

Winn Parish is located in north-central Louisiana, 50 miles north of Alexandria and 100 miles south-east of Shreveport. There are 972 square miles in the Parish of Winn.

 

Winn Parish was officially created by the state legislature in 1851 from lands formerly belonging to the neighboring parishes of Rapides, Natchitoches, and Catahoula. The official organization was completed in 1852. In 1869 Winn Parish gave up part of its original area for the formation of a new southern neighbor, Grant Parish. Winnfield, the parish seat since its organization is located in the geographical center of the parish. The parish was named after Walter O. Winn, the representative who sponsored the legislation to establish the parish.

 

 

The Winn Parish Police Jury accepts white goods (appliances) televisions, furniture, etc. for disposal at the Winn Parish Road Barn located at 501 Thomas Mill Road, Winnfield every 1st Thursday of each month between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.  Bins are provided, and this service is free of charge.  Someone will be there to assist you.  Dates for 2024 are: January 4th, February 1st, March 7th, April 4th, May 2nd, June 6th, July 11th, August 1st, September 5th, October 3rd, November 7th, December 5th.

 

 

REGULAR MEETING DATES FOR YEAR 2024:

(special called meetings posted once scheduled)

Monday, January 8  – Tuesday, February 20 – Monday, March 18 – Monday, April 15 – Monday, May 20 – Monday, June 17 – Monday, July 15 – Monday, August 19 – Monday, September 16 – Monday, October 21 – Monday, November 18 – Monday, December 16

 

 

 

 

 

fight-fraud-250x250    Ordinances   

 

Emergency Numbers

Sheriff's Office
(318) 628-4611
City Police
(318) 628-3511
Fire District #3
(318) 628-1230
City Fire
(318) 628-3923